Dauin - Negros Oriental Destinations


Dauin is a 4th class municipality in the province of Negros Oriental, Philippines.

It is bordered on the north by Bacong, on the south by Zamboanguita, and on the west a mountain range separates it from Santa Catalina. The municipality is a coastal town, the ocean forming its eastern border. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 21,077 people in 4,464 households.


Dauin hosts several popular beach resorts with both local and foreign tourists.

The coast of Dauin offers excellent scuba dive sites with both coral reef and muck dive opportunities. The municipality has established several sanctuaries, within which fishing and boating is absolutely prohibited. This includes sites such as Mainit sanctuary, Luca sanctuary, Dauin sanctuary and Masaplod sanctuary. These sites are well preserved and offer a huge variety and quantity of life forms.


Thanks to the dark sand in the coastal aerea, Dauin also offers some excellent so called Muck diving, which on a point of view of biodiversity can be compared to the dives in Lembeh Strait in Indonesia. Midring blueringed octopus, Wonderpus, Mimic octopus, Poison ocellate octopus, Ambon scorpionfishes, Flamboyant cuttlefishes and Bobbit worms are frequent sights on the sandy shores of the municipality.


Apo Island is part of the jurisdiction of the municipality of Dauin. The island is also a popular site for scuba diving. As it is completely surrounded by coral reefs, the whole island is a dive site. Popular dive sites include Coconut Point, Mamsa, Cogon, Rockpoint and Chapel. Bigeyed Jacks, turtles, bumphead parrotfish and frogfishes are inhabiting the reefs of the island. It is accessible by boat, 30 minutes from the mainland.


Dauin is politically subdivided into 23 barangays.


* Anhawan

* Apo Island

* Bagacay

* Baslay

* Batuhon Dacu

* Boloc-boloc

* Bulak

* Bunga

* Casile

* Libjo

* Lipayo

* Maayongtubig

* Mag-aso

* Magsaysay

* Malongcay Dacu

* Masaplod Norte

* Masaplod Sur

* Panubtuban

* Poblacion I

* Poblacion II

* Poblacion III

* Tugawe

* Tunga-tunga




Attractions at Dauin

Dauin Church
Watchtowers of Dauin