Poro - Cebu Province Destinations


Poro is the first established municipality in Camotes Island.

Poro is the first established municipality in the Camotes Islands. Poro resides on an island of the same name, together with Tudela. The town's name is a Waray term which means "island".


Poro is the home of the Porohanon dialect. Porohanon is the same with the Cebuano dialect except for the way Porohanon speakers substitute the /y/ sound with /z/. For example, the usual Cebuano phrase for "Good morning" is "Maayong buntag". In Porohanon, the phrase would be "Maazong buntag".


The municipality is divided into 17 barangays.




  • Adela
  • Altavista
  • Cagcagan
  • Cansabusab
  • Daan Paz (old name - POSO)
  • Eastern Poblacion
  • Esperanza
  • Libertad
  • Mabini
  • Mercedes
  • Paz (old name - Santa Rosa)
  • Rizal
  • San Jose
  • Santa Rita
  • Teguis
  • Western Poblacion



Cebu Province Official Website



Attractions at Poro

Tagbo Festival